Home > Time Management > Maybe It’s Time To Toss In The Towel

Maybe It’s Time To Toss In The Towel

Here’s a take on time management I haven’t tried before. Let’s pause for a minute and try to determine why it is that even though we’ve read a million time management books, attended any number of seminars, and purchased every gadget and organizer we could get our hands on, we continue to feel like time is managing us instead of like we are in control of our own time.

Merriam-Webster defines time as “the measured or measurable period during which an action, process, or condition exists or continues.”

Lately I’ve been thinking that no matter how hard I try to control my day I just can’t do it. Stuff happens. An unexpected call, email, text message comes in. One of my dogs gets sick or my wife needs me to take or pick up the cleaning. No matter how carefully I follow my own advice and plan my day, it seems like stuff happens and I am frequently interrupted or pulled in any number of different directions.

So, what’s the solution? Is there a solution? Does what I’ve described above sound familiar?

I’m known to be stubborn. So, let’s consider for a moment that “stuff happens” and maybe we really can’t control our day. I’d still like to consider some of my old reliable time management tips and see if you think they can be helpful even if we all agree that “Stuff Happens.” Do you think these so-called tried and true tips will still work?

  • Schedule time for interruptions
  • Take the last part of every day and plan the next day. Or, in the alternative, take the first part of every day and plan your day.
  • Close your door, turn off all the sounds on your phone, computer etc. when you really have to get work done
  • Schedule a time during the day to answer email, tweet and check your Facebook page

Do these kinds of tips still seem relevant if we believe “Stuff Happens” or should we just toss in the towel and go with the flow?

  1. Buck Sherman
    October 11, 2013 at 6:27 PM

    Gretings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to
    check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the
    info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when
    I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, excellent blog!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

